Unlucky golfer’s ball was so deeply embedded even the rules official couldn’t believe it
It might be the most annoying thing in golf. It’s in the top five, at the very least. You hit a shot that, by all accounts, wasn’t that bad, only to find it embedded deep in the ground.
That happened to one unlucky golfer this week, and even the official giving the ruling couldn’t believe what he was seeing.
It came during the first round of the Molly Murphy Crowley Collegiate Invitational in Portland, Oregon. A golfer from University of California—Davis’ women’s golf team hit an approach shot that embedded itself so deeply in an area near the bunker that it was almost underground entirely.
The rules official, after pointing out where the ball was, took a picture because of how rare a sight it was.
Christine getting help for an embedded ball, one that even Steve the rules official says is so rare he wants to get a pic of it! pic.twitter.com/mhWUmi0NZJ
— UC Davis W Golf (@UCDavisWGolf) September 30, 2019
Lots of golf fans were asking what the ruling would be in this situation, and while I’m no rules expert, under rule 25-2, it would appear that because this ball did not embed in a “closely-mown area through the green…fairway height or less,” it’s good old fashioned play it as it lies.
Presumably, she would’ve had to take an unplayable, though. Either that or opt for a shovel.
25-2. Embedded Ball Rule
If a player’s ball is embedded in any closely-mown area through the green, it may be lifted, cleaned and dropped, without penalty, as near as possible to the spot where it lay but not nearer the hole. The ball when dropped must first strike a part of the course through the green.